Kale Chips

Seasoned Kale in the dehydrator along with other veggies my mum is dehydrating.

Seasoned Kale in the dehydrator along with other veggies my mum is dehydrating.

Recently I found a fitness website called Blogilates. It is getting rather popular on youtube right now with many success stories, healthy recipes, etc posted on their website.

While browsing around the “recipes” section, I found this recipe for Kale Chips and Cassey (the owner and host of Blogilates) said that it tastes like Doritos! And it’s KALE! A super-food  I hear there’s heaps of benefits from eating kale – some a little unbelievable. But if you want you can do a quick search on google or read this.

I gave up eating deep friend around 5 years ago but I still gave in when it comes to potato chips and Doritos until about a year ago. If this recipe is a success, not only can I eat this healthy snack, but I can also share this with my family and promote a healthier diet. So I have high hopes!

Since my family and I were going to go travel for 2 weeks, we had to “clean out” our fridge – meaning buy nothing new and eat what’s there. We still had a bag of kale left and didn’t know what to do with them since that was our first time seeing and buying Kale. So I decided to make kale chips.

Dehydrate at 145 degrees Fahrenheit for a few hours…

I followed Cassey’s recipe except for the fact that we didn’t have any sunflower seeds nor cashews as suggested by the source recipe – we only had peanuts, so we used that instead. After dehydrating them for about 4 hours (we left it a little longer since we were out of the house for a couple of hours to do some last minute shopping for travel) they came out about half the size and super crispy! I think that’s what we’re going for?

The Finished Product

The taste? Um… a little weird… Mine didn’t turn out to taste like Doritos, possibly because we used peanuts. But hey, still edible and pretty yummy.

One thing I found weird in the recipe was that on Cassey’s blog, it says if I use the oven to bake it for 5 minutes, toss then bake for another 5 but on the source recipe that Cassey mentioned, it says to bake for 3-4 hours. What a huge difference! Let me know if any of you tried baking them.

I also had a really hard time trying to figure out what “Nutritional Yeast” was. There was so many warnings saying that it’s different from a brewers’ yeast. I almost used bakers yeast (which I did find very weird) since I thought this was the same thing. Luckily I searched around a bit more and found out that it is definitely not bakers yeast. I searched around some more and found out that there are a few alternative names to “Nutritional Yeast” – Savoury Yeast Flakes is what it’s called here in Australia. Unluckily, my local supermarket didn’t carry it. So I had to go on an adventure to go to a pharmacy (out of all places) at a suburb nearby and got a 200gr packet for AU$14.95 – which is like WHAAAA?? why you so expensive??? 😦

If you are in Perth, Western Australia and looking for nutritional yeast and you are not in a hurry, I definitely suggest to try order them online. I think I saw a 500gr packet for just under $20 and a 200gr packet for about $11. But I was in a hurry, so I bought mine at Pharmacy 777 in Cottesloe.

Anyway, I hope you like my little review of this recipe. It was definitely an adventure trying to find “Nutritional Yeast”. I hope it was useful know how I did mine and maybe (just maybe) inspire you to go eat healthier alternatives to over-processed foods.

Have you tried making Kale Chips? How was yours?

 

Lots of Smiles,

Sita.

One thought on “Kale Chips

  1. Pingback: My Crazy Week and a Half! | Sprinkle O'Rainbow

Leave a Reply

