My Favourite Korean Dramas Thus Far

I think Korean fever started in Indonesia when I was about 9 years old. That’s what I remember anyway. The first drama series I remember watching from start to finish was Endless Love‘s Autumn in My Heart – a really sad drama, I only remember that it’s about a girl that was accidentally swapped at the hospital and that everyone who I watched with bawled their eyes out from start to finish. It was from this drama that my slight obsession for a certain actor (Won Bin) started. Though it didn’t last for very long.

As I grew up I discovered the romantic-comedy genre. Though it’s really cheesy and predictable most of the time, it never fails to entertain me.

Full House Take 2

Full House Take 2

Full House Take 2

A rather hilarious love triangle – cheesy and predictable but it entertained me nonetheless. It’s a light entertainment and just enjoyable in general – though I don’t fancy the main male character’s appearance much.

Personal Taste

Personal Taste

Personal Taste

A story about an architect and a furniture designer with quite horrible beginnings. Both surrounded by despicable people and things don’t seem to go their way at the start. Another romantic comedy – definitely a light, heartwarming series! Plus, I fancy this series’ main male character way more than Full House Take 2’s.

Princess Hours (Goong)

Princess Hours (Goong)

Goong (Princess Hours)

My 2nd Korean star love was from this drama. Kim Jeong Hoon. But, what I love about this drama is the story. I’ve watched this drama way too many times and there are so many things I want to tell you but I probably shouldn’t because you must must must watch this drama. It’s a romantic comedy though it’s light on the comedy and heavy on the romance. It’s set in a Korean Palace but the modern kind – not the kind where they seem to always be at war.

To The Beautiful You

To The Beautiful You

To The Beautiful You (Japanese: Hanazakari no kimitachi he (Hana-Kimi), Taiwanese: 花樣少年少女 Hua Yang Shao Nian Shao Nu)

Though I much prefer the Japanese version, the Korean version is also enjoyable. I started watching this not too long ago without knowing that this is the Korean version of Hana Kimi but I knew straight away when I started episode 1. That unmistakeable beginning: girl disguised as guy because she thinks it’s all her fault that a high-jump gold medalist got injured and therefore is unable to continue the sport and she wants to see him jump again.

Full House

Full House

All time favourite: FULL HOUSE

I watched this NOT because of rain. My cousins and I just decided to watch this one day and stuck with it to the end. It’s hilarious and it’s definitely some parts which makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside. It’s the typical bad-guy-turned-good-because-of-an-ordinary-woman type story. I’ve watched this drama probably about 5 times from start to finish and I would so watch it all over again.

Innocent Man

Innocent Man

Currently Watching: Innocent Man (Nice Guy)

The story is so twisted! I started watching this because of the actors Song Joong Ki and Lee Kwang Soo (who I adore from the korean variety show Running Man) and actress Park Si Yeon (From Family Outing season 1). This drama is definitely not a romantic comedy – it’s a melodrama. A heart-wrenching one at that. But hey, it still sucks me in and I want to watch till the end. I have been told that the story is very twisted.

Anyone else love watching Korean Dramas?

Lots of Smiles,

Sita

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Korean Dramas Thus Far

    • Yay! I finished watching Innocent Man last night. I still don’t quite understand the ending but imo it’s still good. Though I know a few people (mainly guys) who would be saying how much of a rubbish it was… Haha

Leave a comment